Alabama Counties List Alphabetical Order

Alabama is divided into counties. There are 67 counties in the state of Alabama. Each county has its own government structure, including a county commission or board of supervisors, and provides various services to its residents, such as law enforcement, education, and public works. The counties are further divided into municipalities, which can include cities, towns, and villages.

Below is the list of counties in Alabama in alphabetical order, the county seat and the year it was created.

List of Alabama Counties

CountyCounty SeatYear Created
Autauga CountyPrattville1818
Baldwin CountyBay Minette1809
Barbour CountyClayton1832
Bibb CountyCentreville1818
Blount CountyOneonta1818
Bullock CountyUnion Springs1866
Butler CountyGreenville1819
Calhoun CountyAnniston1832
Chambers CountyLaFayette1832
Cherokee CountyCentre1836
Chilton CountyClanton1868
Choctaw CountyButler1847
Clarke CountyGrove Hill1812
Clay CountyAshland1866
Cleburne CountyHeflin1866
Coffee CountyElba and Enterprise[8]1841
Colbert CountyTuscumbia1867
Conecuh CountyEvergreen1818
Coosa CountyRockford1832
Covington CountyAndalusia1821
Crenshaw CountyLuverne1866
Cullman CountyCullman1877
Dale CountyOzark1824
Dallas CountySelma1818
DeKalb CountyFort Payne1836
Elmore CountyWetumpka1866
Escambia CountyBrewton1868
Etowah CountyGadsden1866
Fayette CountyFayette1824
Franklin CountyRussellville1818
Geneva CountyGeneva1868
Greene CountyEutaw1819
Hale CountyGreensboro1867
Henry CountyAbbeville1819
Houston CountyDothan1903
Jackson CountyScottsboro1819
Jefferson CountyBirmingham1819
Lamar CountyVernon1867
Lauderdale CountyFlorence1818
Lawrence CountyMoulton1818
Lee CountyOpelika1866
Limestone CountyAthens1818
Lowndes CountyHayneville1830
Macon CountyTuskegee1832
Madison CountyHuntsville1808
Marengo CountyLinden1818
Marion CountyHamilton1818
Marshall CountyGuntersville1836
Mobile CountyMobile1812
Monroe CountyMonroeville1815
Montgomery CountyMontgomery1816
Morgan CountyDecatur1818
Perry CountyMarion1819
Pickens CountyCarrollton1820
Pike CountyTroy1821
Randolph CountyWedowee1832
Russell CountyPhenix City1832
St. Clair CountyAshville and Pell City1818
Shelby CountyColumbiana1818
Sumter CountyLivingston1832
Talladega CountyTalladega1832
Tallapoosa CountyDadeville1832
Tuscaloosa CountyTuscaloosa1818
Walker CountyJasper1823
Washington CountyChatom1800
Wilcox CountyCamden1819
Winston CountyDouble Springs1850